Newsletter

Share this post on your profile with a comment of your own:

Successfully Shared!

View on my Profile
Back to Homepage

Sources of Omega-3

June 25, 2019
share

Transcript

Omega-3’s come from things like fatty fish – like salmon, halibut, herring, sardines. But if you’re a vegetarian or vegan, you might be finding your Omega-3’s through things like flax seeds, walnuts, and hemp seeds. The Omega-3’s found in plant sources are not officially converted in our bodies to the kinds of Omega-3’s that are very beneficial like EPA and DHA. So if you are a vegetarian or vegan, you might want to supplement with algae oil. If you’re a person who doesn’t like to eat fish, you might also consider supplementing with fish oil but it’s very important for you to find the highest quality source you can look for because many of the supplements that have fish oil in them can easily go rancid. So I recommend to my patients to find good brands that are pharmaceutical-grade that have high percentages of EPA and DHA.

Send this to a friend